In only a couple of months, the 21st Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will commence at the Shrine Exposition Center. But did you know that the first and second SAG Awards were held at Universal Studios' Stage 12 and the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium? In fact, how well do you know the Screen Actors Guild Awards? Take a look at the following sets of three statements and see if you can catch which of the following truths is actually a lie. (Answers can be found at the bottom of the post.)

First Set: Nominees and Recipients

1. The actor who has received the most SAG Awards is Anthony Edwards, with 6 statuettes.

2. Alec Baldwin and Edie Falco have been nominated the most for a SAG Award, each with 20 nominations.

3. The actress who has received the most SAG Awards is Julianna Margulies, having brought home 8 statuettes.

Second Set: Award Show History

1. The Inaugural Screen Actors Guild Awards aired live on February 25, 1995.

2. The statuette given out at the SAG Awards is called “The Leading Man,” a nude male figure holding a mask representing comedy and a mask representing tragedy.

3. There was no Life Achievement Award given out in 1981.

Third Set: The Show and Gala

1. PEOPLE Magazine and the Entertainment Industry Foundation host the official SAG Awards Gala.

2. The nominations for the 21st annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be announced on December 9th, 2014.

3. The 21st Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be aired live on TNT and TBS Television Networks on January 25, 2015.

Fourth Set: Life Achievement Award

1. The first Life Achievement Award recipient was Eddie Cantor.

2. Rita Moreno received the 50th Life Achievement Award.

3. Clint Eastwood presented Rita Moreno with her Life Achievement Award at the 20th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards in 2014.

Think you figured it out? Here are the answers:

First Set: #1) Alec Baldwin has actually received the most awards for an actor, with a total of 8 statuettes.

Second Set: #2) The statuette is actually called The Actor, not The Leading Man.

Third Set: #2) The nominations will be announced on December 10th, 2014. Mark your calendars!

Fourth Set: #3) Clint Eastwood didn’t present Rita Moreno with her award, but instead Morgan Freeman.

No comments:

Post a Comment